sometimes all you can do is try!

“Girls of Promise” a girls group that I started and has been running for 3 weeks now.we meet every sunday afternoon. the main reason i started it is because i wanted girls between the ages 15-25years to find a place where they can learn and support each other!

There are few things that I promise my self I would never ever do. One of these is starting or running a business of any kind. But after experiencing the toughest financial year(2008) our organization has ever experienced I began to realize that it was about time I seriously came up with a few business ideas that would help us with the care of our children. So I spent January and now February working on a micro-business proposal that I would like to present to some organizations in Maputo that sponsor micro businesses.

These are the businesses I am working on and hoping by the end of the year they are up and running.

A bakery.

The angle I am taking with this is offering a different but cheap type of bread to the community around us. I am first going to be working with another girl then when we have a good idea of exactly how things are done I will add in orphans. We are going to make our own home made oven(“,) My desire is that one day we open a shop that makes a whole lot of other items.

A carpentry workshop

We have been wanting to do this for years but each time things don’t work out, I am hoping this year will be different.

And a craft shop.

I want this shop to target those who are well to do in Maputo. The items we will be selling will be made by young orphans and older girls. I would really love that one day we open a chic shop in Maputo city.



In all honesty I have been tempted so much not to tell anyone of my plans. I guess it’s the fear of “how about if it flops?” “how about if I don’t get the much needed funding?” and i am sure there are some among you who are thinking, “shula i think you are getting way over your head now” to those i say if you never try you never know. But I am encouraged to share because I know I will definitely need prayers and encouragement. I know it wont be easy(believe me i have spent quite a lot of time thinking of the worst case scenario) and to be frank I am scared of going to these big organizations and presenting my case. I am told my dress code is too laid back so I have to look for some clothes that make me look like I am a “corporate woman, please take me seriously” lol!!!!



apart from this i am still busy with the school and looking forward to the teams that will start coming through in April. I am kept busy but Saturday is my day off and i work very hard to make sure work doesnt take it away from me.

with so much love

Shula

One thought on “sometimes all you can do is try!

have your say

