adventure? yes please!

“I am going to spend a year learning mandarin chinese, when I turn 19 I will move to a rural village in China to teach english and share my faith to whomever cares to listen, specifically children.” This is what I would have told anyone who asked me at 17 what my plans for the future looked like. Let me not forget to add, in my plans I was quite certain that by the time I turned 27 I would be married to one hunk of a man and I would have had 2 kids by then πŸ™‚

Did my plans materialise? Not on your life.LOL! I turned 27Β  last month, I am not married, I don’t have any kids and most importantly, I am not living anywhere near China. So what have the last 10 years looked like? here are some highlights that came to mind today:

I have come to deeply appreciate what suffering does to a person IF you are willing to let her teach you through the pain. This is probably the greatest lesson I have learned in my life thus far and probably will remain so till the end of it. I have observed how a poverty mentality ruins people and learned how to be creative in finding ways to help people when I have insufficient funds, or no funds at all. I have learned to love children, all types of children, even those who have committed horrible crimes towards others. I have made some bad choices but also learned how to pick myself after a fall. I have learned to know when I should be very tough and when to be extra sensitive to the needs of others around me…come to think of it, I am still working on this one.

I have traveled to places I never thought I would ever step foot in. God knows how much visiting new places means to me and so from time to time friends have sponsored me to go visit random places. I have lived in the middle east, worked with rich and poor children in rural and urban areas of South Africa and Mozambique, studied in the Rocky mountains of the United States and visited some beautiful places in Southern Africa. Along the way I have made some amazing long-lasting friendships.

I rather like the fact that I never did end up going to China to be honest, I am sure I would have enjoyed it but the life I have lived for the past 10 years has been good! Living with Jesus leading me makes me always wonder, what in heaven’s name will I be doing for the next 10 years? I honestly don’t know and I have a feeling it will be totally different from anything I have imagined these past 10 years. πŸ˜€

have your say

