Lorica of St Patrick

A couple of years ago, I attended a traditional Lutheran church service. It was very different from the type of church service I have grown up with. For starters there was a priest in robes and from time to time the congregation would pray together with a priest from a small prayer-book.  It was a solemn affair, total opposite to my church 🙂 But I actually enjoyed the gathering. Particularly the time when we all prayed together from the prayer-book. I promised myself I would find one for myself but I still havent got around to doing that. My praying is more like a conversation with Jesus, but I think once in a while it would be nice to read what others said to Him.

Last year whilst at bible school one of our lecturers recited this prayer by St Patrick to us. I loved it! Today it came to mind as I have been packing up and getting ready for my big move. Friend, I have experianced fear, excitement and anxiety all mixed up together this last week. I don’t think it will get any better until I am finally in Chiclayo, in the meantime I keep all the crazy emotions at bay by praying…a lot!

I arise today
Through God’s strength to pilot me;
God’s might to uphold me,
God’s wisdom to guide me,
God’s eye to look before me,
God’s ear to hear me,
God’s word to speak for me,
God’s hand to guard me,
God’s way to lie before me,
God’s shield to protect me,
God’s hosts to save me
From snares of the devil,
From temptations of vices,
From every one who desires me ill,
Afar and anear,
Alone or in a mulitude

Christ with me

Christ before me

Christ in me

Christ below me

Christ above me

Christ at my right

Christ at me left

Christ in breadth

Christ in length

Christ in height

I ARISE TODAY!

Of course this is not the whole prayer, I just wanted to share with you my favorite parts 🙂

have your say

