La Familia

Its been a long day I am rather tired but my fingers have been itching to blog for a while now so I might as well do it. For the benefit of all those who actually follow this blog I thought I should start my new season in Peru with a synopsis of what exactly I will be doing here, this way you wont be wondering what is going on a couple of blog entries down the line. Unlike my usual entries, this one will be rather long so bear with me πŸ™‚

I am volunteering at Morning Star Childrens Home as a house mom in northern Peru. Before you think I do all the work by myself allow me to correct you πŸ™‚ There are two homes on the premises and I run the second one. Where ever I fall short, the house parents in house #1 are there to help me out πŸ˜€Β  I also have Flo, my right hand woman who comes for a couple of hours each day to help me out. I now have 5 children between the ages 19 months to 17 years under my care,Β  as many of them get adopted my “family unit” is rather fluid. Yes, I wont lie at times it will get rather difficult but being a stay at home mom to children who come from abusive backgrounds has been my something I have wanted to do for awhile now.

So, in between keeping house, running after two toddlers and raising 3 girls I hope to keep my love for photography and writing strong!

Friend, I don’t want to come across as this super amazing selfless christian girl, I will leave that for others who are better than me. I have been here one week and one day and believe me you, there have already been many moments when I have wondered, “what am I doing here? I have spent the last 10 years of my life working with wounded children, am I just allowing myself to grow old too fast by taking up the responsibility of being a mom of 5 at 27 years?”Β  After all, my social life will be largely restricted and dating, well lets just say it will continue to be what it has always been, non-existent… is all that I have done and will do worth sacrificing a chance to live the life of a “normal” young lady?

We may never meet but I do hope my entries give you a good idea of who I am. I shall continue sharing my heart with my God-given passion and trust that you get to see me grow πŸ™‚

Shula.

2 thoughts on “La Familia

  1. Hey Shula, Wow! You surprised me once again. I can’t believe you are now in Peru. But is sounds like you are doing a great job. I hope all goes well with you there. Take care.

have your say

