Adoption.

For as long as I can remember I have always wanted to adopt and now working in a home that is involved in adoption I am getting to see what it takes to get a child from point A(orphanage) to point B(new family). I have always known this, but now I know for sure, adoption is not easy, it is hard and in some cases extremely frustrating! The costs, the paper work,  the constant fear of “how about if we dont bond with the child” and if its a child with past trauma its the fear of “will he/she ever be OK emotionally”, if its an interracial adoption its the worry that “maybe the child will be made fun of at school”…the list of worries is endless.

Whilst others would change their minds after seeing first hand what it takes (and I hold nothing against them) I take it as, now I am more informed on how things work and when my time comes, I will be well prepared.

I feel this is the part of the post where I should go into an indepth theological description of how adoption is such a big part of our faith as christians BUT try as I might I cant seem to put the words together( I give up on being good at apologetics!)

I guess I will have to leave that for others who are better at that sort of thing…the next best thing I can do is share a few bible verse that show just how much God takes the subject of taking care of the less fortunate seriously:

Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you. (James1v27)

Give justice to the weak and the fatherless; maintain the right of the afflicted and the destitute.(Psalm 82v3)

You shall not mistreat any widow or fatherless child. If you do mistreat them, and they cry out to me, I will surely hear their cry, and my wrath will burn, and I will kill you with the sword, and your wives shall become widows and your children fatherless.( Exodus 22:22-24)

Learn to do good; seek justice, correct oppression; bring justice to the fatherless, plead the widow’s cause.(Isaiah 1v17)

I believe, in one way or another we christians should always be in the forefront leading society in looking out for the needs of those who are less fortunate, after all that pretty much sums up what Jesus did when he was on earth!

Well, goodnight friend 🙂 until next time!

have your say

