25 couples,1 wedding,a mayor and the clown.

I attended my first Peruvian wedding last Friday. My friend Flor assured me that since it was going to be a civil wedding with no church ceremony it wouldn’t take long before we would be at the reception happily filling our stomachs with some of Peru’s best-loved dishes. I must confess friend, I was very excited about the eating part!

Well everything went completely different from all I had been told. Upon arrival at the municipality building we found that instead of couples simply walking in and getting registered, the local municipality of the small town had decided to make it a mass wedding for 30 couples( turned to 25 it seems 5 couples bailed out). What should have taken 20 mins to occur turned into 3 hours of standing and watching 25 couples being married off by the local mayor.

The whole event was complete with :

what I can only assume where 2 brides maids compliments from the mayor’s office;

a cake for all the couples to take their first wedding photo with;

Enrique Igglesias and Kenny G crooning love songs through some powerful loud speakers as the mayor married them off 5 sets at a time. Snacks for everyone and a Peruvian alcoholic drink (don’t know what it’s called) to toast the newly weds.

To complete the affair the floor was cleared for all the newly weds to have their first dance as a married couple.

The where couples of all ages, the youngest being my friends nephew, he is 17 years…

When the ceremony was done we quickly jumped into a “motor,” (the small taxis that are used around here) to go and attend the reception but before that my friend Katie and I decided to make a short detour and get a picture taken with the mayor.

I had thought we would just catch him on his way out but that was not the case, it turned out to be such a formal affair meeting him in his office. I dared not look at Katie least the laughter I was trying to hold back leapt out and completely embarrassed me! You would think by the way he talked to us that he had received the official ambassadors of Canada and Zambia. The whole scene was ridiculously funny, we even had a man introducing us as we walked into the office as if the mayor didn’t already know that we just wanted a picture with him. The man;that is the mayor, then went off on a tangent of around 5 mins talking about the importance of having us over and how in the future we must have more cultural exchanges between his country and our countries. In his own words “Mi casa e su casa!”. We ended the meeting by getting what we had originally come for, a photo with the mayor!

The reception was not what I had expected, it was very subdued  with people mostly keeping to themselves till the clown walked in.

When I first saw him, I thought he was lost looking for directions for another house party but I was assured this was where he had come to MC and entertain. I for the life of me cannot understand why anyone would want to have a clown as the MC of a wedding but apparently as Flors daughter told me, “it’s the latest 21st century wedding fad.”  To my amazement, the guests LOVED him, Katie and I just watched completely puzzled at the scene before us. I guess I am living behind the times!

As for the food, what a disappointment friend, by the time it was being served I had to rush back home, luckily Flor got the mother of the groom to pack some for me so that I could eat it at home. It tasted great BUT nothing beats eating with a group of people and having a clown entertain you!

How does the saying go again? oh yes: one mans tea is another mans poison. I thoroughly enjoyed the day but being married off by a mayor with 24 other couples and then having a clown for an MC is definitely not my style of wedding 🙂

3 thoughts on “25 couples,1 wedding,a mayor and the clown.

have your say

