A state of mind.

ImageImage

Since my passion is to work with children who are hurting, I meet a lot of abused children. Some stories I share with you friend, others I choose not to. I have had the priviledge of helping some of these children realise that even in the worst of situations, there is always hope. Nothing beats seeing a child come alive again, sometimes it takes years of just being there.

I have been loving hurting children for 9 years now, it is so easy to become callous to what goes on around me. I am thankful that after all these years, I am still able to cry when I hear of a child that has been abused. There have been some moments when I have gone numb but over the years I have come to recognise the tell tale signs of burn out and I do what ever I can to come away and bring my heart back to life again. Sometimes saving my heart means making tough choices.

Image

my best friends uncles backyard.

I have found that if my heart is not at peace, its close to impossible to deal with a hurting child. Sometimes the urge to run away from life’s constant challenges is very strong isn’t it friend? Its a cliche but its all so true; “the grass is always greener on the other side.” You can travel the world looking for that  place that will give you that perfect tranquility, is it possible that the peace only comes when you stand and face your fears or troubles?

Image

For me I struggle with facing my fear of saying No to helping an abused child in desperate need of someone to unreservedly pour their love on them. But I am no use to any child if my heart is dead and I am not at peace with myself and God. It takes awhile to gather up my courage but I think with time I have got better at saying that dreadful word, “No.”

ImageImage“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest.” ~ Jesus.

(pictures taken from different countries I have visited over the years)

2 thoughts on “A state of mind.

have your say

