best friends

Luke and I
Luke was my first real friend.  We became friends when I was 3 years old, my mother says she doesn’t know how we communicated in the beginning cause I spoke Bemba and him English.The way I see it, were there is a will, there is a way :D. Soon after, my parents decided to start speaking more English in our home so that I learned it faster and make it easier to talk with my best friend Luke. Luke is Scottish, sometimes when I think about those days I wonder if I spoke English with a tiny bit of a Scottish accent because we spent so much time together 🙂 ( his parents worked at the church together with my parents)
I don’t know what Luke remembers from our friendship but I am told I did not allow anyone else to play with him when I was around 😀 poor guy! I also remember having this Scottish coat and dress that were my favorite outfits that his mother gave me. If I had my way I would have permanently lived out of that dress. I would force it on even when it was too small for me to wear, that’s how much I loved it!
We were friends for 3 years and then after that his parents went back to Scotland, we never kept in touch. Who knows maybe one day we will randomly meet and reminisce those silly toddler years.
Luke and his parents had such a positive influence on my life it’s no wonder I have always had a desire to visit Scotland one day!
Now you know friend, it was a little boy from Scotland who inspired me to learn the English language!
(FYI I was born and spent the first 6 years of my life in Zambia).
have your say

