Miss Em and the bird park

In June I spent 2 weeks in Kwazulu Natal, a province on the eastern coast of South Africa. I spent the first week helping with the wedding preparations and then taking part in a weekend long farm style wedding of my dear friend of 19 years, Angela. The last week I spent in the city of Durban enjoying the hospitality of Miss Em and her family.

Miss Em
Miss Em

Miss Em is a little madam who is as she likes to tell anyone who cares to ask, “almost three!” She was such a joy to get to know because not a day would go by without her coming up with the funniest one liners, most times she wasnt even trying to be funny. My favorite moment with her was when we went shopping with her mom and Miss Em and I spent much of the time running around the store playing hide and seek.Β On my last day in Durban Miss Ems’ mom took us (her two older sisters and I) out to the Bird park, I don’t remember most of the names of the birds we saw that day, so please forgive me for not tagging all the pictures.

Peacock, male ones are always prettier than the female…so not cool :p

PicMonkey Collage 8 - Copy

Miss Em and Mom
Black Swan
Kissing Macaws πŸ™‚

Observing life through the eyes of a toddler is heartwarming, everything is new and amazing, so much to explore, so much to learn and not enough hours in a day to do everything especially since for Miss Em, mommy likes making her take afternoon naps even when it clashes with her busy plans for the day πŸ™‚

Thank you for sharing your family with me Miss Em, I dont know when I will be back but I promise I will try my very best to come back and share my lip balm with you every morning! (That was our daily ritual, every morning she would wait for me to get dressed then come into my room and ask: “Thula, please may I use some of your lipthstick?”)

have your say

