A happy union.

A Swazi Beauty.

A Swazi Beauty.

Generally speaking, for most Africans, there is a strong desire not to forget who they are even as they embrace all sorts of Western ways. Wearing traditional clothes is one way of remembering, embracing and demonstrating to others who they are. You can usually tell which tribe someone comes from by what they wear.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A Venda woman. At a wedding I attended last year in Johannesburg South Africa

Great pride is taken in traditional clothing, of course for the city folk, dressing like this usually happens on special occasions but in rural areas it is not uncommon to see some people dressed in traditional clothes on an ordinary day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Danielle and I visited a “living museum” called Matsamo Cultural Village and enjoyed the singing and dancing that this group presented. They are from the Kingdom of Swaziland and that’s why they are called Swazis 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A Venda girl. Sometimes traditional clothes can tell someone if you are married or unmarried.

Married Venda Women

Married Venda Women

Swazi Men

Swazi Men

The Matsamo Cultural Village is VERY touristy, but I will admit I enjoyed my afternoon there.

There are those who don’t like the fact that indigenous cultures are loosing their heritage because of globalization. The way I see it, there is nothing wrong with enjoying the best of both worlds 🙂

The Maiden dance.

The Maiden dance.

As you may have noticed I have made some changes to my blog I figure since I am preparing for some drastic changes in my life my blog might as well show it 🙂 hopefully in the next post I will share with you what is about to happen.

have your say

