7 years.

Seven years ago a desire was planted in my heart to one day work among troubled Native American children. It wasn’t because I had read or studied about them, neither was it because I met a Native American or talked with someone who knew about them. At that time, I knew nothing about this people group. A desire was simply planted in my heart as I napped one afternoon. I remember when I woke up from my nap I prayed a simple prayer: “God, if this is you, it doesn’t matter how many years pass, you won’t let this idea die.” And so over the years as I worked in Mozambique and South Africa my heart would not forget. I researched about them and shared my story of wanting to work with Native American children with anyone who cared to listen. There were days when the longing was so strong and I would get so discouraged on how I would ever find myself working with Native kids when financially it just wasnt possible. So I kept praying.

In 2012 if you remember, I found myself in Peru, when I went I thought I would eventually end up working with an indigenous group there but that didn’t work out and I returned home. Then mid last year I was connected with an organisation called Living Hope Native Ministries. At the time of connecting with them a group of friends put money together to pay for my ticket when the opportunity came for me to serve among Native American children ( I have AWESOME friends!!!). I got accepted to work with LHNM and in September last year,Β  I handed in my visa application. Turns out the Canadian Gov’t can make a person wait a long time for their final decision, I waited 6 months to finally hear from them. To be honest friend, I had all but given up on the visa, it took nearly 2 weeks for me to believe that I had a 2 year Canadian work visa stuck in my passport!

By the end of this May I am going to be living and working in Pikangikum First Nations Reservation in Ontario (in Canada Native Americans are called First Nations or Aborigines) If you don’t know much about Native American history and heritage, I would encourage you to do a little reading or maybe just wait for me to get there so I can share my experiences with you πŸ™‚ My responsibilities will be to open and run a youth center and to teach Christian Education at the local school. From what I have read and heard, reservations in the USA and Canada often resemble very poor communities in Africa. Life on a reservation is hard.

I guess it is strange to hear of an African girl willing to pack up and move to a reservation in North America, just so you know, I think its strange too but over the years I have learned to trust God even when I don’t fully understand whats going on. He is reliable, He has not failed me AND apart from all the challenges I know I will face I know its going to be EPIC fun πŸ˜€

Even though we may never meet friend, I hope you will join me on this new adventure as I make a home and workΒ  amongst some of the worlds most vulnerable children in Ontario Canada.
P.S I leave on the 28th of April for Ontario Canada.
On a random note, I enjoy dancing and this song was playing as I typed this so its only natural that I had to share it with you πŸ™‚
7 thoughts on “7 years.

  1. This will be an interesting journey, Shula. Personally I have known and been fascinating by the native Americans since I was a child. Today I know a lot about the challenges and evils that happened during the time of colonizations of this continent. The indigenous peoples were forced onto reservations, their children forced into residential schools and the indigenous ceremonies and cultural practices were banned, and their land and way of life lost. Not to mention all the natives killed. So problems are understandable, but also pride of a great history. Best wishes for you and your job!

  2. from Regina: SO excited about this, Shula! our worlds collide… Pikangikum was the destination for one of the early mission trips we took as a family. Thanks for keeping us posted–praying blessing and strength for your time there.

  3. what a brave step to take, you will always be a child in our eyes and we will never cease to pray for you, and i guess am allowed to worry a little.

have your say

