Small pleasures.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I very much enjoy taking pictures of flowers, I easily loose track of time or that I am hungry, today it was a pounding headache that stopped me from taking more shots 🙂 It was a “please feed me NOW, I am hungry.” kinda headache LOL!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Part of adjusting to a new environment is practicing the art of observing without talking too much (talking too much means one is not listening enough, no one likes a know it all) I find that taking shots of flowers is the perfect way to practice quietly observing one situation with as many different perspectives as possible, that’s why I can take 10 mins or more on just one flower trying to get that one shot that makes me happy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABeing in a new environment and culture can be mentally exhausting but I know in time I will assimilate 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am thankful for Spring, anytime I need to practice the art of silence I just have to step outside and observe nature around me, looking for the little things that not many people will notice. Today I was practicing taking shots of small wild white flowers and editing them. I am not completely happy with the shots but in time I will get the hang of it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 thoughts on “Small pleasures.

  1. Pingback: Small pleasures.

  2. So nice to see that you too enjoy photographying flowers. These are very nice, and some quite similar to those who grows in my world. I wonder if the white “big” ones are the same as will be the golden berry, the mulberry (Rubus chamaemorus) that we cherish so much in august, or if it is a relative?

  3. I wish I knew the names of the flowers but I dont, I hope to learn though. The one you mentioned is actually a very small flower that grows right on the ground and if you are not looking for it you can easily miss how pretty it really is.

  4. I love reading your posts. This one really spoke to my heart. Been working on and practicing being quick to listen and slow to speak. us “loud Americans” which was brought to my attention in a previous mission trip meeting that is what most foreigners think of us. I stood back and realized how true that label is. Now the Lord by His awesome grace is changing that. When we are still and quiet we get God’s perspective. It is by far more gentle and peaceful! 😉
    Thanks dear sister
    Laura

have your say

