Hope Notes: Trav.

Two weeks ago a group of us road tripped to South Dakota to support a friend of ours who would be playing at the Life Light Festival. A well-known First Nation band called “Broken Walls,” had visited Pikangikum 2 months earlier and had been so impressed by Travs guitar skills that they invited him to join them on stage at this huge festival. It’s no small thing to be a part of this festival, last year 400 000 people attended and a lot of Christian heavy weight musicians perform. Best part for me was, the festival was for free 😀 It was great being there and supporting one of Pikangikums local guys.

I figured he would make a great addition to my Hope Notes and so here is my Q/A with Trav Peters. I hope you are left inspired 🙂

How long have you been playing? I am 34 and I got my first guitar when I was 14 but the strange thing is I never expressed any interest in music when I was younger ..my dad just bought me a guitar out of the blue one afternoon and I have played ever since.

Broken Walls

Who taught you? I am completely self-taught, no lessons whatsoever.

Name some of your music heroes that influence how you play Matthew Bellamy of MUSE is definitely a fave cause he is just an amazing musician AND an incredible live performer …the way he approaches his instrument is just amazing his use of effects and his showmanship have definitely inspired me to play the way I play ….Bernard Butler is also another guitar player that has influenced me so so much …he used to be the guitar player for Suede in the early 90s and his work with the band during this era is probably my fave era of Suede …his technique of playing complicated guitar bits over vocals is what I copy most from this guy …and I also dig Johnny Marr of the Smiths …. Noel Gallagher of Oasis ….Johnny Greenwood of Radiohead ,….all my guitar heroes are british haha!

What is the first song you ever remember playing? smells like teen spirit – Nirvana

Is there anything that you wish you could change from your past? I wish I could have practiced my instrument more when I was younger …I spent too much time in my teen years just making noise on my instrument haha!

Travs fan club 🙂

What’s your favorite album from another artist? DOGMANSTAR – Suede this album was the soundtrack to my teenage years …I must have listen to this album over 5000 times ever since I first heard it …everything about it is brilliant …even to this day I listen to this album at least once a week …..it’s not a happy blue skies record ….it’s a beautiful gloomy rainy day record …

What does the future look like for your music career? Looks like fuzzy carebears hahaha … it looks good cause the Lord has been keeping me busy with saving souls through music ….and yeah it looks superb

DayStar

How many guitars do you own and which one is your favorite? own 10 instruments ..9 guitars and 1 bass …….and out of all my guitars my Paul Reed Smith Custom 24 (eriza verde green) is my favourite because it sounds awesome and stays in tune.

Trav is part of a local band called Daystar, they only got together earlier this year but their summer has been very busy traveling to other Reserves in Ontario and Manitoba. Juggling work and being part of a band has left Trav exhausted at times but he enjoys it.

Broken Walls performed at a youth center that weekend and Trav was honoured with a quilt made by one of the Lakota elders.

How would you describe your band? Daystar is just a baby haha not even a year old and Buster is the leader  cause he is the brains of the whole shindig  …and yeah someday if the opportunity ever arises we will record …if we ever write our own stuff that is 😛 DayStar plays mostly country gospel even though to be honest … I hate hate country lol ….but slowly but surely I am trying to lure the group away from that sound and trying to sneak a bit of rock in there and some contemporary worship music too.

What do you like the least about travelling with your band? Farts

have your say

