Ice Fishing

My friend Lola invited me to join her and her family ice fishing this afternoon and I readily accepted. I said this to you during the summer, I have found I really enjoy fishing. I can close my eyes right now and feel the warm summer sun, the occasional gentle breeze, I can see those pesky mosquitoes desperately searching for a spot on my skin to bite, only finding I have lathered every part of my bare body with mosquito spray ( I don’t care if its toxic those little devils are not having a part of me!) Occasionally you see a Bald Eagle flying by, a beaver in his busyness and if its your lucky day, lots of fish. Yes, you guessed right, I am longing for summer. To top it off if you are fishing with local friends you have the added bonus of quiet companionship, there is no desperate need to fill the air with words.

Sunshine, Lolas daughter.
Sunshine, Lolas daughter.

With all that in mind, I wasn’t sure how much I would enjoy ice fishing, after all we are stillย  knee high in snow. Just last week we had -43C!!! Friend, you won’t believe it, I enjoyed it immensely! I think what helped a lot was that every 10 mins I could go sit in my friends truck and warm my fingers and toes. I even managed to doze off once as I sat out on the frozen lake, not sure if its just a sign of how tired I am or if that’s because I was so relaxed … The weather forecast said today’s temperature in the afternoon was -19C but felt like -26C because of the windshield. How I managed to doze off in such conditions is a mystery, I woke up with two men looking at me and then chuckling to each other. I must have looked hilarious to them!!

Enough talk here are the pictures of today’s escapades.

Fishing derbys happen all the time in Pik, and since today was a public holiday in Canada (Family Day) this is what some people did this afternoon.
Fishing derbys happen all the time in Pik, and since today was a public holiday in Canada (Family Day) this is what some people did this afternoon.
First you find a spot, shovel the snow away and then drill a hole.
First you find a spot, shovel the snow away and then drill a hole.
I don't know what Stevies' hands are made of but thats him scooping out ice from the hole he made for his daughter.
I don’t know what Stevies’ hands are made of but thats him scooping out ice from the hole he made for his daughter.
My spot, I only got a nibble today, silly fish ate my minnow and didn't get hooked.
My spot, I only got a nibble today, silly fish ate my minnow and didn’t get hooked.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ashanti. Stevie and Lolas’ oldest daughter.
Stevie at his spot. The ice on the lake is about 31 inches thick. Some people in Pik started driving on the lake when it was only 8 inches!!
Stevie at his spot. The ice on the lake is about 31 inches thick. Some people in Pik started driving on the lake when it was only 8 inches!!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Lola and Stevie are pretty good at fishing.
Stevies' catch. Waleye.
Stevies’ catch. Waleye.

its been nine months since I left home and I still have days when I marvel at where I find myself living, today is one of those days. Me Shula Mulenga living on a northern reserve in Ontario Canada, remind me again, how did that happen?

Leaving the lake after a wonderful afternoon :) FYI we are driving on frozen lake.
Leaving the lake after a wonderful afternoon ๐Ÿ™‚ FYI we are driving on frozen lake.
2 thoughts on “Ice Fishing

  1. So I have been in snow and all..but this still blows my mind! God is just amazing, He created 31 inches of snow on your lake and 31 degree heat here..and you live to experience it all! Thanks for sharing meisie.

have your say

