Contentment.

Last night I spent time looking through some of my pictures on my external hard drive. I found so many memories that I had forgotten about. Interesting that for some even though I am smiling at the camera, I can still remember I wasn’t having the greatest day.

For those of you who have been reading this blog for several years, you will remember that I spent 10 months in the U.S several years ago. I will just have to borrow a quote from Charles Dickens to briefly describe what those 10 months were for me:

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times… it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair… We had everything before us, we had nothing before us …

DSC03706
The week we spent camping in Moab Utah. I have probably posted this picture before, lol!

I laughed a lot,  cried way more than I wanted. I learned some painful lessons, a cliche but true, pain is the best teacher, I am a little wiser now. I learned light-hearted lessons too, for example how to ski ( I was still an epic fail at the end of the day even though Heather was a patient teacher). I learned, if you don’t hold a shotgun properly when you shoot, the kick back will make you scream and cause those around you to double down in laughter. Most importantly, I will never, ever, ever knowingly go camping in the mountains when it’s about to snow, talk about misery! But that’s a funny story for another day.

Ever since I learned in psychology that we humans have a tendency of looking back into the past and seeing it rosier than it really was, I have always strived to be careful how I look back , sometimes you can get so caught up in “the good old days,” you rob yourself of valuable lessons in contentment whatever season of life you are in.

I saw this quote on my friends Instagram, what do you think about it?

Contentment comes not from adding to what you have, but from subtracting from what you desire. Jeremiah Burroughs.

have your say

